Style Swap: Lindsay's Stamp Stuff.

This week I’m doing a style swap with the fabulously talented Lindsay, owner of Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff and fellow designer on mygrafico. When she suggested the idea I knew it would be a great opportunity to have a play around and get really creative with someone else’s images for a change. Lindsay’s already posted her project over on her blog, so be sure to pop over and pay it a visit to see the fabulous boxes she’s made with my seasonal papers.

Lindsay’s great range of digi stamp kits and loads of extra freebies give you masses of choice and inspiration for your crafting. I’ve used the images from her gorgeous Doodle Flowers set, along with a scallop edged circular mat from the Embossed Mats set and a watercoour background from the Doodle Flowers add-on freebie. Here’s the card I made.

I decided I’d like to change the stamp colour from black to blue on all the elements to give a softer look. Lindsay has done a great tutorial to show you how this can be done in her blog, but I did it a slightly different way in Photoshop and then used the watercolour paper effect for colouring the images. I overlaid the re-coloured stamps over the watercolour background and cut them out. It was a little bit fiddly to cut away the background, but I think it was worth it for the final effect.  I printed out the flower  and the dragonfly onto some semi-gloss embossing paper and whilst the ink was still wet, I added silver pearl embossing powder over the entire image and heated it. It gave a really wonderful silvery, pearlescent embossed effect with the soft, watercolours showing through. I added some extra detail with tiny dots of pink pearl 3d paint and some hotfix crystals.

I layered the matte with the flower on top of the previous layers of glitter card and vellum, added a bow and attached the dragonfly using some twisted white coated wire to give a 3d effect of the dragonfly popping out. I hope you like it.

I have another card design using some of Lindsay’s Christmas stamp sets which I’ll be posting on Thursday.

3 thoughts on “Style Swap: Lindsay's Stamp Stuff.

  1. This is so pretty! Great tutorail, I wish I couls see the silve EP in real life! I can’t wait to see what you make next, I’m having a ball using your designs!
    hugs,
    Lindsay

    1. Lindsay you’ve worked wonders with my designs, they both look beautiful. It’s a shame the silver doesn’t show up so well on the photo, with the watercolour effect beneath it almost looks irridescent.

Leave a Reply

