Style Swap: Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff

Time for another style swap. I just love the whole coffee/café vibe, so this time I’ve chosen the digital stamp set “Coffee Talk” from Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff. And believe me, the aroma from those coffee beans whilst I was crafting this project was out of this world. Here’s the set I chose from the selection in Lindsay’s STORE.

by Lindsay's Stamp Stuff http://thefrugalcrafter.wordpress.com

I thought I’d tackle something slightly more ambitious than just a card on this occasion. I didn’t think I had a huge stash of crafting and card making supplies like some of you, but it turns out I have a lot more than I remembered as at each stage I unearthed out some new treasure I had almost forgotten. So I made the “Café Molido” card and a decorated gift bag filled with coffee beans, which you could fill with any goodies or treats for a coffee lover.

Supplies List

  • Brown kraft paper or basic brown wrapping paper.
  • Square white card blank, or some A4 plain white card cut to size and folded.
  • Small scraps of paper, card or vellum to co-ordinate. I used a scrap of lilac speckled card and some small scraps of gold vellum. I put the vellum through a ribbler to give it a bit of texture and cut the edges with the ripple effect craft scissors.
  • Cloud and ripple edge craft scissors.
  • Small lengths of decorative thread, wool or ribbon.
  • Assorted metal and plastic buttons from my collection.
  • A square scrap of acetate (from an old piece of cardboard packaging with an acetate window)
  • Coloured pencils.
  • Some instant coffee and a few coffee beans.
  • Chocolate brown ink pad
  • Pebbles Inc iridescent pastel chalks
  • Heat-it-Up embossing powder in Enchanted Gold.
  • Embossing  paper for inkjet printer (or a coated paper where the inkjet ink doesn’t dry immediately) giving you time to apply the embossing powder after printing.
  • Heat gun

Firstly, I printed the “Coffee Talk” stamps for both projects out on my inkjet printer onto embossing satin after re-colouring them brown (see my earlier tutorial on re-colouring digital stamps in Photoshop). Whilst the ink was still wet I applied the gold embossing powder and heated with the heat gun to emboss. Once dry, I added a little subtle colour with lilac and purple coloured pencils and some irridescent chalk. After cutting out the chosen images, I inked around the edges with chocolate brown ink.

For the “Café Molido” card:

I took a piece of brown paper, scrunched it up and then flattened it back out and soaked it in some weak black coffee. After leaving it to dry flat, I tore it down into a square to fit the white card blank, and mounted it on the card blank followed by the lilac square, the gold vellum, and topped with the completed image and matching sentiment.

I wrapped some decorative textured brown thread around the front of the card and topped it with some decorative metal and plastic buttons from my collection. I cut the shanks off the back of these and used a hot glue gun to make sure they stuck well and stayed flat. As a final touch I stuck some real coffee beans along the bottom of the card, again with the hot glue gun.

Voila … here’s the finished card:

Stamps by Lindsay's Stamp Stuff
Design by Sarah Paris. "Coffee Talk" Stamps by Lindsay's Stamp Stuff

For the coffee bag:

I used the original bag that the coffee beans were packed in as a template to make a similar bag out of brown paper and cut a shaped window in the front and a shaped edge along the top with the cloud craft scissors. Click HERE to download a PDF of my coffee bag template. I fixed a piece of acetate behind the window to show the goodies inside. After filling the bag with coffee beans (or your chosen goodies), I folded over the top, punched two holes and used some more of the decorative textured thread to tie the bag closed. The tag was layered on a piece of white card in the same way as the main card and topped with a rosette made from a strip of brown paper, folded around on itself and glued, topped with some more buttons and again I added some real coffee beans glued on top of the image around the bottom. Here is the finished project …

Stamps by Lindsay's Stamp Stuff
Design by Sarah Paris. "Coffee Talk" Stamps by Lindsay's Stamp Stuff
Design by Sarah Paris. "Coffee Talk" Stamps by Lindsay's Stamp Stuff

You can check out all the other goodies in Lindsay’s online store HERE. Thanks for stopping by. Have a great day!

Oh, and don’t forget to check out what Lindsay has created using my Mish-Mash Dolls clipart over on her BLOG. It’s certain to be awesome!

2 thoughts on “Style Swap: Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff

  1. these are fantastic Sally! i love the real coffee beans used as embellishments, so clever! thanks for the template too, very handy:) I have so much fun swapping stamps with you;) I can smell that coffee all the way over here!

Leave a Reply

