Spring Birthday Bouquet.

This week I’ve been working on some floral cards inspired by the free papers I have from a recent cardmaking magazine. The papers are from the “Pretty Please” range from My Mind’s Eye and along with these I used some georgeous textured card that I also had from the March issue of “Cards”magazine and one of my own digi stamps from the Hearts & Flourishes set. The digi stamp set is only £1 on my website for the entire month of March, so now is your change to grab it for a bargain price, the images are so versatile they can be used for so many occasions. The posy stamp used on this first card, as well as being part of the Hearts and Flourishes set, it’s also available as a single stamp for only 50p in the March sale.

I drew a couple of simple flower shapes in different sizes in Adobe Illustrator and used my new Caft Robo die-cutting machine to cut lots of them out of 150x150mm sheets of the “full of flowers” papers. I also cut a simple flower shape from some plain white card, and re-coloured the posy digi-stamp in brown (see earlier tutorial) before printing it out and cutting it with my Craft Robo. Free SVG cutting files for all the shapes can be downloaded at the end of this article.

So, once I had lots of flower shapes, digi-stamp cut-outs and gorgeous papers to work with, I started playing around with some ideas and layouts. I used the turquoise, orange and rich red colour scheme inspired by the papers to colour up the posy digi stamp to match with my limited collection of old Letraset markers. Here’s the finished card:

I also drew a shape for the outer frame in Illustrator and cut it on the Craft Robo from a sheet of the “polka dot orange” paper. After cutting it out I inked around the edges with a crimson ink stamp and drew in a line of stitching with a black fine liner pen. On the posy cutout and the white flower shape, I coloured around the surface edges a little with a shell pink ink stamp to tone down the white, and inked the edges with both the shell pink and crimson ink pads. To finish off the simple birthday greeting was from K & Co by Brenda Walton.

I layered it all up with 3D sticky pads and some 3D sticky dots and used 3D pearl paint for the flower centres. The main card background was one of the free sheets of card from “Cards” magazine and has a beautiful pearlescent finish and fantastic jacquard texture which looks absolutely stunning!

Here are some more detailed views.

Digi Stamp: Sarah Paris, Papers by My Mind's Eye, Sentiment: Brenda Walton/K & Co
Digi Stamp: Sarah Paris, Papers by My Mind's Eye

Materials List:

  • Digi Stamp from Sarah Paris “Hearts & Flourishes”.
  • Papers “Pretty Please” from My Mind’s Eye: “Full of Flowers” and “Orange Polka Dot”.
  • Tulip Pearl 3D Fabric Paint.
  • Crimson &  Shell Pink Ink Pads from Anna Griffin.
  • Markers by Letraset.

Click here to download a free set of SVG cutter files for all the shapes I used in this tutorial, including the flowers, the posy and the panel. Note: Posy digi stamp not included.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend!

One thought on “Spring Birthday Bouquet.

Leave a Reply

