Vellum Flowers.

After finishing the Spring Bouquet Card, I had lots of pretty papers and flower cutouts left to make another card. I’d printed out some of the stamps from the Butterfly Garden set at the same time as the posy stamp.  I’d also printed another sheet of stamps in brown onto gold inket vellum that I’d embossed with some of my favourite enchanted gold embossing powder. If you print onto a surface like vellum using an inkjet, it’s really easy to emboss the printed image, just like with a traditional inked stamp, as the ink doesn’t dry immediately. But you need to work quickly. As soon as the printed sheet comes out of the printer, whilst the ink is still wet, sprinkle it with the embossing powder. Shake off the excess and then apply the heat gun.

I was going to cut these on the Craft Robo, but after heating the embossing powder, the sheet of vellum had distorted a little bit and wouldn’t sit flat on the backing sheet, so I had to cut them out carefully by hand. But it was definitely worth it because the effect of the vellum flowers is stunning. The gold vellum is from Crafty Computer Paper.

I assembled more 3D flower elements, as before, this time using the gold vellum flowers with centres made from the “full of flowers” paper and completed with olive green hotfix crystals. I curled the outer petals up slightly around the edges to make them look more flower-like. Vellum curls really beautifully like this without creasing if you’re very careful. You can curl it around a pencil or just use your fingers. Here’s a detail showing the flower petals:

Close-up to show flower petal detail.

I added a couple of brown and white flowers for variety into the arrangement. These were inked around the edges with shell pink and crimson ink pads. I layered them all up with 3D sticky dots of different thicknesses. The background panel was cut from the My Mind’s Eye “Flower Drop” paper on my Craft Robo. The simple sentiment was by K & Co/Brenda Walton.

Close-up to show flower petal detail.

I’m really pleased with how this card turned out. Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

