My First Surface Pattern Submission.

I’ve final submitted my first surface pattern design for inclusion on a blog feature about Module 1 of The Art and Business of Surface Pattern Design e-course. This will showcase patterns from many of the talented students taking part and I’m super-excited to see it when it comes out. I went through various revisions and colour options before finally deciding on a big, bold version of my Auricula flowers, as this is definitely my kind of style. Here’s the final design I submitted, along with variations on the range with co-ordinate prints and some mock-ups of the designs on cushions. Now I’m getting the surface pattern bug I really want to get my designs out there onto some products. I can see this big, bold design working on wallpaper and duvets, as well as soft furnishings and stationery, with both the bold purple background and the softer green. So far this course has been absolutely amazing and I can’t wait to get started on Module 2, which is coming up very soon. Everyone on the course has been a great support and already we’re building up a friendly network to keep ourselves motivated in the breaks between the modules.

Now I’m onto thinking about my next design, which I’ll be developing from some more of my flower sketches. It must be the influence of the botanical painting course I’ve also been working on recently, as last week I was painting glorious oriental poppies, and now I just want to draw and paint them some more and develop them into another surface pattern.

3 thoughts on “My First Surface Pattern Submission.

  1. Hi Sarah, really good to meet you and brilliant you’re also in UK! You’re going to love Mod 2 and 3! So inspiring and has motivated to know I’m on the right track. I’ve only just started my business. I’d love any advice or tips on getting my work in UK papapercrafting mags? My plan is to write to them offering freebie printables/downloads Stay in touch. Your designs are beautiful!

  2. Hi Sarah, also just completed Module 1, think I missed something here. Are we supposed to be submitting something? Also where did you get the cushion mock ups? They look great, by the way… Emma

    1. Hi Emma, thanks for stopping by my blog, it’s nice to meet you 🙂
      There was a call for submissions from Rachael to feature in the Module 1 showcase. It was posted in the Flickr group discussions. The closing date was May 31st, but I’m sure there will be other chances to showcase your work later – I’m not sure if all the submissions will be featured or if they will just be showing a selection.
      The cushion mock-up is a template from http://www.envelop.eu, as I’m setting up some designs to sell online on their site at the moment.
      Thanks and have a lovely day x

Leave a Reply

