Sneak Peek: “It’s A Hoot”

I’m busy working away on some new designs at the moment – finally. It always seems to take such a long time, I’m the worst person for tweaking and making lots of last minute adjustments. I’ve had these (and a lot of other designs) in development for quite a while, working at ridiculous o’clock because my creativity seems to be at its peak between 10pm and 4am, so I’m rather out-of-sync with the rest of the world right now. At some point my own design ideas overlapped with the creative exercises I’ve been working on as part of the surface pattern e-course, as one of those exercises was doodling and designing some character art, and I already had these cute owl doodles in my sketchbook.

I’ve included a vibrant reddish-orange in the colour scheme, as this years Pantone colour of the year is Tangerine Tango. I’ve often had difficulty working with oranges, until I discovered how beautifully it works with rich shades of purple, plum, aubergine, warm browns and copper, which are some of my favourite colours. The results using a limited 5 colour palette have a retro feel, which I rather like. Here’s a sneak peek at what I’ve been working on. More to follow very soon, as I’m working on clipart, printable papers and digi-stamps of these little guys for my online shop.

Leave a Reply

