From the Archives; Allium Stationery Range 2006

I was sorting out some drawers at home over the weekend when I came across product samples from some of the stationery ranges I designed in the past. Until two and a half  years ago I was senior creative designer for a company producing stationery, notecard sets, diaries, scrapbooks, arts and crafts products and children’s books. It was a shame I had to move on, as I worked on the kind of products I love the most when I was there, but I moved on during the recession, with the hope that I’d eventually be developing the same types of product under my own label. This is why I’m currently studying The Art and Business of Surface Pattern Design e-course alongside designing all the products for and running the Sarah Paris website.

So I thought I’d share some of my past designs with you here on my blog. I’d almost forgotten how proud I was of them at the time, now they are hidden away in a drawer; I just don’t have the space to display them all. This is still one of my favourites, as it was inspired by my love of all things floral, and in particular the Allium, which I (attempt to) grow in my tiny garden. I created the designs with a combination of Photoshop and Illustrator, drawing the flowers in Illustrator along with some of the background textures, and layering them in Photoshop to soften the textures and diffuse the edges to give it a subtler look. I chose an iridescent glitter finish to print over the flower heads to add that extra luxurious feel, and all the products were produced with a matt laminate finish, giving them a quality look and helping the glitter finish stand out. They were all finished and branded with matching tags, attached using complimentary coloured suede ties which were simply knotted. The notebook and address books had plush padded covers, and the “colour block” notebook had complimentary coloured pages, making it a bit different from usual.

At the time I photographed the mock-ups (these can be seen on the bottom photo, with the entire range we presented at the time). The top two photos are of the final products.

If you love Allium and surface pattern design as much as I do, you’ll also enjoy the blog post which inspired me to remember this project from fellow Module 2 ABSPD student Lia Edwards.

Leave a Reply

